About Rumi Shishido

Rumi Shishido 宍戸留美 launched her singing career in 1989 when, at the age of 16, she was selected as the Grand Prize winner out of about 85,000 hopefuls in the 4th annual "You're the next Lotte CM idol" competition sponsored by the confectionery company. Her debut single, Cosmic Rendezvous 「コズミック・ランデブー」, was released in 1990. In the same year, she won the Outstanding Rookie of the Year Award at the 9th Megalopolis Music Festival.After that, she expanded her range of activities beyond singing, becoming a voice actress, actress, photographer, character designer, and producer. Based on her self-produced album Set Me Free, released in 1995, Shishido was selected as one of the 10 Japanese artists to listen to by The New York Times. Internationally active, she has performed live in France, Germany, as well as Taiwan.

The analog version of her first album Do-Re-Mi-Fa-So-La-Ti-Do-Shi-Shi-Do-Ru-Mi was released in 2019, and in 2020, she released "La 1ère 30," a best songs compilation album commemorating the 30th anniversary of her debut.

Of course, anime fans also know Rumi Shishido for her voice acting work. For example, she has voiced such memorable characters as Onpu Segawa in Magical Doremi (1999-), Lopmon in Digimon Frontier (2002), and M.O.M.O. in Xenosaga: The Animation (2005). Last year, she reprised her role as Onpu Segawa in the Magical Doremi 20th anniversary commemorative anime film Looking for Magical Doremi, and also sang the ending theme "Endless Story." Moreover, she voices the role of Momokappa in the long-running NHK TV anime Hanakappa, now in its 11th season.

Sony Music era tracks now streaming

From today, January 20th, 2020, all seven singles and tracks from the two albums which Rumi Shishido released when she was signed with Sony Music (1990-1992) are available for streaming internationally.

Here is the complete lineup:


  • 「コズミック・ランデブー」"Cosmic Rendezvous" (1990, Do-Re-Mi-Fa-So-La-Ti-Do-Shi-Shi-Do-Ru-Mi)
  • 「ナクヨアイドル平成2年」"Naku yo Idol Heisei Ni-nen" (1990, single)
  • 「Panic in my room」(1991, Do-Re-Mi-Fa-So-La-Ti-Do-Shi-Shi-Do-Ru-Mi)
  • 「地球の危機」"Chikyū no Kiki" (1991, Do-Re-Mi-Fa-So-La-Ti-Do-Shi-Shi-Do-Ru-Mi)
  • 「おとこのこ」"Otoko no Ko" (1991, single)
  • 「男のコが泣いちゃうなんて(La-Da-Dee)」"Otokonoko ga Naichau Nante (La-Da-Dee)" (1991, single)
  • 「恋はマケテラレネーション」"Koi wa Maketerare Nation" (1992, single)


  • 『ド・レ・ミ・ファ・ソ・ラ・シ・ド・シ・シ・ド・ル・ミ』 Do-Re-Mi-Fa-So-La-Ti-Do-Shi-Shi-Do-Ru-Mi (1990)
  • 『プンスカ』 Punsuka (1992)

You can access the streaming tracklist through the music service of your choice here.

Analog issue of Do-Re-Mi-Fa-So-La-Ti-Do-Shi-Shi-Do-Ru-Mi (2019)

  • 12inch / 33 1/3RPM
  • Product No.: DQJL-7107
  • Price: 3,900 JPY + tax
  • Product page at Sony Music Shop

Best songs compilation album "La 1ère 30"

Price: 3,200 JPY (incl. tax)

Product page at Rumi Shishido's online shop "sundaliru's store"

Rumi Shishido Links

By - Ben K.